Home»UAlbany Sports»Osbourne Named To CFPA Running Back Award Watch List

Osbourne Named To CFPA Running Back Award Watch List

Pinterest Google+

Osbourne Named To CFPA Running Back Award Watch List


CHARLESTON, S.C. – The University at Albany’s Omar Osbourne has earned a spot on the 2014 CFPA Running Back Award Watch List, as announced by College Football Performance Awards.

“Congratulations to Omar Osbourne on earning a spot on the 2014 CFPA Watch List,” said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. “Osbourne will likely play an important role for the Great Danes this season.”

Osbourne, a native of Syracuse, N.Y., was a first team All-CAA selection in 2013. He ranked third in the conference, totaling 1,206 rushing yards and 100.5 yards per game. His rushing total also placed him fifth in UAlbany’s all-time single-season record book. Osbourne ranked fourth in the CAA with 12 rushing touchdowns, including a three-touchdown performance against Delaware on Oct. 12th. Osbourne also totaled 1,369 all-purpose yards (114.1/game), which ranked seventh in the league.

The initial watch list includes 38 returning performers, vying for the top running back award in the Football Championship Subdivision. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferment in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Twenty-eight CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

CFPA is now in its seventh season of recognition, utilizing objective rankings of player and team performance from its data index since 2008.

Last season, Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston earned the CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy for the FBS, while Eastern Washington quarterback Vernon Adams earned the CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. 

CFPA Trophy winner and former South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney was the first overall selection in the 2014 NFL Draft.

The full list of 2014 CFPA winners will be announced January 14, 2015.

Headline News

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.