Home»UAlbany Sports»Mason, Wilson Named To CFPA Defensive Back Watch List

Mason, Wilson Named To CFPA Defensive Back Watch List

Pinterest Google+

Mason, Wilson Named To CFPA Defensive Back Watch List

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in Division I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA Defensive Back Award, and two University at Albany student-athletes earned spots on the list —  Justinian Mason and Tramaine Wilson. The preliminary watch list highlights 36 returning performers, vying for the top individual defensive back award in the Football Championship Subdivision.

“Congratulations to Justinian Mason and Tramaine Wilson on earning spots on the 2013 CFPA Watch List,” said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. “With Mason and Wilson returning for 2013, UAlbany’s pass defense is positioned for continued success.”

Mason and Wilson join teammate Will Fiacchi on the 2013 CFPA Watch List. UAlbany is one of only four programs (along with Chattanooga, Maine, and McNeese) to have multiple players earn spots on the 2013 CFPA Defensive Back Award Watch List.

Mason, a senior from Mason, Ohio, started all 11 games at safety in 2012 and earned NEC Defensive Player of the Week honors once. He ranked fifth on the team with 46 tackles, including 35 solo, and picked off three passes, running them back for 99 yards and one touchdown.

Wilson, a senior from Staten Island, N.Y., started nine games at safety and totaled three interceptions for 66 yards in 2012. He also made 11 tackles, helping the Great Danes win back-to-back Northeast Conference titles.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL defensive backs include: Earl Thomas (Texas), Patrick Peterson (LSU), Mark Barron (Alabama), David Amerson (North Carolina State), Jayron Hosley (Virginia Tech), Phillip Thomas (Fresno State), Tyrann Mathieu (LSU), Cliff Harris (Oregon), Javier Arenas (Alabama), Trumaine Johnson (Montana), Asa Jackson (Cal Poly), Laron Scott (Georgia Southern), Anthony Walters (Delaware), DeAndre Presley (Appalachian State), Justin Bethel (Presbyterian), Korey Lindsey (Southern Illinois), Mark LeGree, (Appalachian State), and Ryan Steed (Furman).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website (http://www.collegefootballperformance.com). Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.

Headline News

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.