Home»UAlbany Sports»Lyle Thompson, Miles Thompson Named Two of Five Tewaaraton Finalists

Lyle Thompson, Miles Thompson Named Two of Five Tewaaraton Finalists

Pinterest Google+

Lyle Thompson, Miles Thompson Named Two of Five Tewaaraton Finalists

Tewaaraton Foundation Press Release

WASHINGTON – UAlbany attackmen Lyle Thompson and Miles Thompson have been selected as Tewaaraton Finalists, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced on Thursday.

The Thompson brothers are two of five finalists selected for the Tewaaraton committee.  The committee is made up of NCAA coaches throughout the country, selecting the top-five players in all divisions of lacrosse for consideration for the Tewaaraton Trophy.

Lyle Thompson is named a Tewaaraton finalist for the second year in a row, while Miles Thompson earns the honor for the first time.  Lyle Thompson’s finalist selection last season was the first for UAlbany since Frank Resetarits was one of the final five in 2007.  In Tewaaraton history, which dates back to 2001, UAlbany has earned four of the five finalists all-time from the America East Conference.

This is the fifth year, and first since 2011, that teammates have been finalists for the Tewaaraton Trophy.  Previous years of two teammate-finalists include 2011 (Syracuse), 2006 (Virginia), 2003 (Johns Hopkins) and 2002 (Syracuse).

The Tewaaraton Trophy will be award at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. on May 29th at the National Museum of the American Nation.

Lyle Thompson is currently the top scorer in Division I, matching the DI single season record with 114 points to become the first player in DI history with back-to-back 100-point seasons.  The junior attackman and America East Player of the Year leads the nation with 69 assists, just eight shy of the DI single season record, and adds 45 goals.  His 7.13 points per game is nearly a point-and-a-half more than any other non-UAlbany player.  This year, he has not scored below four points in a game.

Miles Thompson is the top finisher in all of lacrosse, leading DI with 74 goals, the second-highest single season mark in DI history.  He is second in DI in points per game with 6.75, adding 34 assists to total 108 points on the year, tied for the fourth highest mark ever in a single DI season.  His 4.63 goals per game are nearly one-and-a-half goals more than second-place Matt Gregoire of UMBC.  The senior attackman and All-America East First Team player has scored at least four points in 15 of his 16 games.

The other three finalists include Duke attackman Jordan Wolf, Loyola defenseman Joe Fletcher and Princeton midfielder Tom Schreiber.

Headline News

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.