Home»UAlbany Sports»Alexa Schneider Named to 2013 America East Women’s Soccer All-Rookie Team

Alexa Schneider Named to 2013 America East Women’s Soccer All-Rookie Team

Pinterest Google+

Alexa Schneider Named to 2013 America East Women’s Soccer All-Rookie Team

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – UAlbany freshman forward Alexa Schneider has been honored with a place on the 2013 America East Women’s Soccer All-Rookie Team, the conference announced Wednesday.

Schneider is UAlbany’s first All-Rookie Team member since 2011, when defender Stephanie Nelle was named to the squad.

“As a freshman, Alexa provided us with a spark offensively and defensively this year,” says head coach Caitlin Colver.  “Her tenacious attitude and strong mentality will absolutely be a powerful presence in the years to come for the Great Danes.“

The rookie finished the season with a team-best eight points on three goals and two assists, also top marks on the team.  She ranked in the top ten in assists and assists per game in America East matches.

She scored her first two goals in UAlbany’s narrow road defeat to Cornell.  In conference play, she scored the first goal against New Hampshire, leading to the team’s draw.  Schneider later earned assists for the team’s only goal against Vermont and Maine.

In addition to points, Schneider also led the Great Danes with 24 shots and 13 shots on goal.

The conference also announced its all-conference teams, all-academic team and yearly awards on Wednesday. 

2013 America East Women’s Soccer All-Conference Teams
First Team:
–Chanel Johnson, Raelynn Mikell, Stephanie Santos (Hartford)
–Ashley Castanio, Stella Norman, Larissa Nysch (Stony Brook)
–Lisa Bijman, Maggie Malone (Maine)
–Jessy Brown, Alexa Quaranta (UMBC)
–Rebecca Raber (Binghamton)

Second Team:
–Charlene Achille, Eve L’Abbe, Arianne Leclerc, Lauren Swant (Maine)
–Lauren Kadet, Meg Kowalski, Amira Walcott (UMBC)
–Natasha Douglas, Amanda Hamilton (Hartford)
–Haley Marks, Nikki McFarland (Vermont)
–Connie Gormley (Binghamton)
–Tessa Devereaux (Stony Brook)

All-Rookie Team:
–Alexa Schneider (UAlbany)
–Katie Connolly, Jessica Jurg, Caitlin Smallfield (Hartford)
–Christina Fluman, Maxie New, Leah Yurko (Stony Brook)
–Katie O’Neill (Binghamton)
–Arianne Leclerc (Maine)
–Meg Kowalski (UMBC)
–Nikki McFarland (Vermont)

All-Academic Team:
–Emma Kurth, Emily Nuss, Conor O’Brien (Binghamton)
–Lisa Bijman, Eve L’Abbe (Maine)
–Nikki Boretti, Jessy Brown (UMBC)
–Hannah Blondin, Colleen Murray (New Hampshire)
–Emma Donnelly (Hartford)
–Colleen Corliss (UMass Lowell)

2013 America East Yearly Awards
–Striker of the Year: Chanel Johnson, Hartford
–Co-Midfielders of the Year: Jessy Brown, UMBC, Stephanie Santos, Hartford
–Defender of the Year: Maggie Malone, Maine
–Goalkeeper of the Year: Ashley Castanio, Stony Brook
–Rookie of the Year: Nikki McFarland, Vermont
–Coaching Staff of the Year: UMBC

Headline News

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.