Home»Sports»50th UAlbany Cross Country Invitational

50th UAlbany Cross Country Invitational

Pinterest Google+

On Saturday October 15, University at Albany hosted its 50th UAlbany Cross Country Invitational. The invitation consisted of three races and an Induction Dinner Ceremony.

The afternoon began with the second annual Jason DeJoy Memorial “The 5th Man Race” Open 5K at noon. This race is in memorial of Jason DeJoy who was a UAlbany alumnus who was a distance runner for UAlbany’s track and field and cross country teams who contributed to two third place team finishes at the NCAA Division III cross country. He was also an alumnus who graduated with BA of Arts in May ’96 at the 152nd Commencement. One of his great runs was placing first place for the 10,000 meters with the time of two minutes and twenty seconds in April 8th 1994. He had passed away suddenly in January 7, 2014 leaving behind his wife Arlene and daughters Josephine, Angelina, and Elizabeth.

“This is just a wonderful event in his memory. We certainly appreciate it and enjoy coming out here, especially in such a beautiful day. We thank coach Vives. [We] enjoy coming every year.” said Bonnie Mead, Jason DeJoy’s aunt.

The Jason DeJoy race male overall resulted in Peter Flynn of Delmar, NY, finishing in first place with the time 18:19, followed by a tie between Andrew Van Slyke of Albany, NY, and Jason Tomlinson of Albany, NY, both with the time of 18:55.  The Jason DeJoy race female overall results placed Silvia Del Fava from Boulder, CO, at first place with the time of 18:24, followed by Nicki Nesi of Pelham, NY, at 18:51, and Annie Gould of Stormville, NY, at 19:27.

The second race of the day was the Bobbi Palma Women’s 5K Championship race at 12:45pm. UAlbany women’s cross country placed first with the overall time of 91:56.0. UAlbany’s sophomore Cara Sherman, placed fourth with the time of 17:51.4, just behind Monroe College’s sophmores Susan Ejore at 16:59.6 and Nokuthula Dlamini at 17:35.4, and Long Island University’s junior Talya Williams at 17:39.5.

The last of the day was the R.K. Munsey Men’s Championship 8K race at 1:30 p.m. UAlbany men’s cross country placed first with the overall time of 126:11.1. UAlbany’s junior Ryan Udvadia from Albany, NY, placed first with the time of 24:58.1, followed right behind by UAlbany’s junior Kyle Gronostaj with the time of 25:08.6. UAlbany’s freshman Jake Johnson placed fourth with the time of 25:19.0, followed by UAlbany’s sophomore Calvin Butlak who placed fifth at 25:20.5, and UAlbany’s junior Tyler Ranke placed sixth at 25:24.9.

There was also an Induction Dinner Ceremony SEFCU Arena Hall of Fame Room 5:30pm. It used to be only every four years that UAlbany would host its Wall of Fame induction but it is now decided it will be held every year. This year’s Wall of Fame Inductees include Arnold “Arnie” Shell who was the first Division III track teams in the country and served as a captian in 1971 and 1972, Gered Burns who was holds two individual school records, Samantha “Sam” Cohen who was the pillar of the program’s Division II era, Joeffrey “Jeff” York, Xiomara “Cimo” Davila Diaz who was the first women’s Division II ECAC championships in 1998, Paul Mance who was one of the top level SUNYAC long and triple jumpers, Winsome “Angela” Foderingham who was a UAlbany Hall of Famer with 13-time All-American, and James “Jay” Nixon who was a four-time NCAA Division III ALL-American in pole vault. Each inductee gave a speech and was awarded a glass trophy. A 4×6 plaque for each of them will be displayed at the new Wall of Fame.

Coach Vives is the director of UAlbany Track and Field and Cross Country teams who had coached 143 All-America athletes and 14 individual NCAA champions. Matt Jones who enters his third season as head coach for UAlbany cross country teams.

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.